HOVISSE Medical Research Project

 

 

The HOVISSE (Haptic Osteosynthesis Virtual Intra-operative Surgery Support Environment) project is a medical Virtual Reality research undertaking currently conducted in collaboration with the University Hospitals of Zurich and Basel and the Computer Science Department of the University of Basel.

HOVISSE aims at developing a framework of software applications to provide a seamless digital support environment for Osteosynthesis in trauma care. It will offer assistance starting with the pre-operative planning phase and continuing to the intra-operative surgery phase. Through use of Virtual and Augmented-Reality technologies as well as Computer Haptics, the project tries to improve the Osteosynthesis work-flow through a coherent stereoscopic 3D immersive data environment. The research project which is financed by the Hasler Foundation started in January 2006 and is planned to run for three years.

The Computer Perception and Virtual Reality research group of the Berne University of Applied Sciences (BFH) is the main project contractor and the responsible partner for software development and system integration.


ANEMA SOLUTIONS took responsibility in providing custom 3d characters (models and animations) to the Berne University of Applied Sciences (BFH), converting them into any desired format and to integrate them smoothly into the custom realtime 3D engine.

Reference contact: Prof. Urs K├╝nzler

ANEMA

Suchen Sie eine Lösung für Ihr 3D-Projekt?
Lösung

HOVISSE Medical Research Project

 

 

HOVISSE (Haptic Osteosynthesis Virtual Intra-operative Surgery Support Environment) ist ein medizinisches Virtual Reality Forschungsprojekt, betrieben der Universitätsspitäler Zürich und Basel, sowie dem Departement für Computerwissenschaften der Universität Basel.

Ziel von HOVISSE ist die Entwicklung eines Frameworks von Software Applikationen für eine nahtlos digital unterstützte Umgebung von Osteosynthesis (komplizierte Knochensplitterbrüche) Operationen. Es beinhaltet die Unterstützung pre-operativer Vorbereitungsphasen sowie die intra-operative Hilfe. Durch Nutzung von Virtual- und Augmented-Reality Technologien, Computer Haptik und Stereoskopischer 3D Daten versucht das Projekt den Osteosynthesis Arbeitsfluss und hygienische Verhältnisse zu verbessern. Das Forschungsprojekt wurde von der Hasler Foundation im Januar 2006 gestartet, und die vorgesehene Laufzeit beträgt 3 Jahre.

Die Computer Perzeption und Virtual Reality Forschungsgruppen der Berner Fachhochschule (BFH) sind die verantwortlichen Partner für Software Entwicklung und System Integration.

ANEMA SOLUTIONS übernahm die Verantwortung, spezifische 3d Characters (Modelle und Animationen) an die Berner Fachhochschule (BFH) zu liefern, diese in jedes beliebig gewünschte Format zu konvertieren und einwandfrei in die existierende 3D Engine zu integrieren.

Referenz Kontact: Prof. Urs Künzler